Litigation Update: Leadership Decided for 3M Combat Arms™ Earplugs MDL

by | May 29, 2019

On May 22nd Judge M. Casey Rodgers issued Pretrial Order No. 7 naming the leadership for the plaintiffs in the 3M Combat Arms™ Earplugs MDL. Selection was made from among 190 applicants. Bryan Aylstock was named Lead Counsel, supported by Shelley Hutson and Chris Seeger as Co-Lead Counsel. Brian Barr and Michael Burns were named Co-Liaison Counsel. These five lawyers, along with Evan Buxner, Tom Cartmell, Mark Lanier, Roberto Martinez, Paul Pennock, Adam Wolfson and Genevieve Zimmerman will comprise the Executive Committee.

David Buchanan and Elizabeth Burke co-chair the Steering Committee, with an additional thirteen lawyers on the committee: Virginia Anello, Karen Beyea-Schroeder, Katherine Cornell, Sindhu Daniel, Brad Honnold, Rachel Lanier, Jennifer Liakos, Todd Mathews, Douglas Monsour, Ruth Rizkalla, Michael Sacchet, Sean Tracey and Mikel Watts.

Shelley Hutson chairs the Common Benefit Fund Committee. In addition, the order sets out several subcommittees. The Discovery and ESI Sub-Committee is chaired by David Buchanan, the Early Vetting Sub-Committee is chaired by Rachel Lanier, and the Law, Briefing and Legal Drafting Committee is chaired by Douglas Monsour.

The order also set out several joint committees, including a Joint Discovery Committee, a Joint Arms Services Committee, a Joint Statute of Limitations Committee and a Joint Settlement Committee.

In total, 53 lawyers from 42 firms were named to leadership positions. The appointments are, as usual, personal and for a period of one year. We agree with one plaintiff attorney who characterized the overall leadership as “pretty awesome” and we believe that our veterans will be well-served by this strong and talented team.

Click on this link for information on Verus’ Earplug Litigation Support Services. To contact us, fill out this form or email us at and we will reply immediately.



About the Author


Share This