Leadership Appointed for Camp Lejeune Water Contamination Litigation

by | Aug 1, 2023

In an order filed on July 19, judges for the U.S.D.C. for the Eastern District of North Carolina appointed the following counsel to serve as members of the leadership group for the Camp Lejeune water contamination litigation:

Lead Counsel:                                                                    J. Edward Bell, III – Bell Legal Group

Co-Lead Counsel & GovernmentLiaison:                        Zina Bash – Keller Postman LLC

Co-Lead Counsel:                                                             Elizabeth Cabraser – Lieff, Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein LLP

                                                                                         Michael Dowling – The Dowling Firm PLLC

                                                                                        Robin Greenwald – Weitz & Luxenberg, P.C.

                                                                                       James A. Roberts, III – Lewis & Roberts PLLC

                                                                                       Mona Lisa Wallace – Wallace & Graham P.A.

Liaison Counsel:                                                             Charles Ellis – Ward and Smith, P.A.

                                                                                         Hugh R. Overholt – Ward and Smith, P.A.


Per the Court’s order, lead and co-lead counsel are tasked with providing direction, oversight and the coordination of the responsibilities of the Plaintiffs’ Executive and Steering Committees. They will also formulate and present positions on substantive and procedural issues during the litigation. The order lays out the specific duties and responsibilities in detail.

Liaison counsel will be responsible for serving as the point of contact between the Court and plaintiffs’ leadership.

The Plaintiffs’ Executive Committee will be chaired by lead and co-lead counsel and will determine the members of the Executive Committee, who will be in charge of forming subcommittees to develop a comprehensive litigation plan. The subcommittees will include a Plaintiff Criteria/Bellwether Committee; Government Liaison Committee; Database Development Committee; Resolution Committee; Science and Experts Committee; Administrative and Common Benefit Committee; Law and Briefing Committee; and Discovery and ESI Committee.

The Plaintiffs’ Steering Committee will be chaired by the lead and co-lead counsel and will be comprised of members of the Executive Committee and be responsible for guiding the work of the subcommittees.

Read our latest blog post here.


Share This